The Sun, the Earth and the Moon II

Hi! In my previous post I published my Aicle unit and a link where anyone can download it. In this post I am going to explain it a bit.

The unit was thought to be teached in 2º of primary, in Science. It is a topic very close to the children’s environment and a nice topic to develop the curiosity on. They have to learn that we belong to a planet, a Solar System and an Universe, and their changes and movements have consequences and an effect on our lives.

At the end of the unit pupils will explain orally and create a model of what they have learnt.

Apart from this final task they are supose to do word maps, simple sentences and data tables.

The unit is thought to be teached in 8 sessions of 55 minutes each one, but it depends on the level of the students or the time we have got in class to do it, always going from simple to more complicated aspects and contents. The task has to have more difficulty each time.

 Each session starts with a brainstorming of what they know, a short explanation of the teacher and then a practice time for the pupils. In sessions 1 to 4 I have introduced a content each day, from more abstract to more particular. In sessions 5 to 8 the child is the centre of his learning process and he has to manipulate and show his knowledge about the topic.

I have use very colorful resources like flashcards, videos or webpages to improve their digital skills, so important nowadays. Videos are very useful, above all in abstract topics for svery small children.

I hope my unit is useful for your class, and remember that the hole unit and the resources are in my previous post.

 

Deja un comentario